Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to join our community
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site, connect with other members through your own private inbox and will receive smaller adverts!

WW11 Royal Navy Service Record - (My Grandad) - looking for some information please

ellamac

My dad recently requested his fathers' navy service records. He wants to know where my grandad was based during the war, but the records only give limited information, please see below. If anyone knows where these ships were located and what the difference is between acting joiner 4th class and acting shipwright 4th class is please? My grandad was a joiner by trade before the war, thank you for any information you can give me, my dad will be so happy as my grandad passed away whilst he was quite young and he never got to ask him about his time in the navy. Many thanks for your help, Ella.

HMS Victory - 02/03/1943 - 07/05/19143 - Acting Joiner 4th class
HMS Westcliff -19/06/1943 - Acting Joiner 4th class
HMS Copra - 24/08/1943 -26/08/1943 - Acting Joiner 4th class
HMS Westcliff 27/08/1943 - 31/12/1944 - Acting Joiner 4th class then Acting Shipwright 4th class
HMS Byrsa 01/01/1945 - 30/09/1945 - Acting Shipwright 4th class
HMS Copra 01/10/1945 - 09/05/1946 - Acting Shipwright 4th class

He was released to shore in Class A on 9 May 1946 - Hi sport division was Portsmouth, he was from Edinburgh. His name was James Kirkpatrick.

Attachments

• grandad (002).jpg
    grandad (002).jpg
    409.9 KB · Views: 21
  • grandad.jpg
    grandad.jpg
    217.7 KB · Views: 20
If you google the ships names you'll get their history.

As for Joiner to Shipwright I would guess that was a promotion within the branch. To put it into civvy speak it would be like going from mechanic to technician.

To add to what I've posted Victory is the shore establishment in Portsmouth where he probably joined up.

HMS Byrsa was a shore base in Algeria