Will debt stop me joining????

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by chefgary85, Nov 24, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hi guys.forgive any blatant naivety this is my first post!im gary im a 28 yr old chef.ive done the whole fine dining,michelin end of cooking for 10 years and i want to give it up to join the navy.something ive allways wanted to do.make a difference and travel.16 hrs a day putting microscopic leaves on plates with tweezers to serve to overpaid,toffee nosed farmers in london is not my thing.in fact i hate it.so im determined to fulfill my dream and join.my mates think im mad as ill half my income but the money doesnt interest me.the problems im having are however money related.im in an iva with additional small debts and my iva company are now advising me to go bankrupt.im gutted.......on paper it makes sense as my debts exceed £15,000 but i really am desperate to get in.ive packed up smoking,drinking etc to get myself upto speed and am training hard.is this going to stop me joining?or if im declared bankrupt after applying will it affect me?some clarification would be fantastic guys.its frustrating as im so determined to get in but the rejection wont come easy .:la:

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

As long as you pass security clearance it's no longer an issue & we no longer discuss finances at interview, nor are you obliged to discuss finances at your AFCO, so crack on & good luck.

3. Gary

Ring 08456 07 55 55 today and register your interest in joining.

4. i rang them yesterday.my initial presentation is july 2nd at ipswich.:)

5. july lol?!i mean december.

• Like Like x 1
  6. Ninja_Stoker

Wow, July next year?

7. cal

cal Midshipman