Which University?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Marshmallow, Mar 5, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I just wondered whether I should go to a university with a URNU?

Basically I'm in my last year at sixthform, and I will be going to university this September to study Geography and then I'm going to join as a warfare officer (I have passed the RT, Medical and PJFT). I have offers from Exeter, Cardiff and Plymouth, and I think I'm gong to put Exeter as my first choice, however it doesn't have an URNU, whereas Cardiff (my second choice) does have one. The reason why I'm asking is because I am applying for a bursary, hence why I have done the RT etc. even though I'm not joining for 3/4 years.

Any advice or thoughts would be helpful!

2. - - - bump - - -

3. Hello,

Firstly congratulations on your offers and bursary :D I am still in the application process so I cannot comment on the navy side, but I am at Uni so I can pass off any advice I have regarding that! As long as it is not a stipulation of the bursary that you need to join an URNU (my friends with the army have had to join the OTC but again I am not a recruiter etc so have no idea of the navy's bursary rules...), I would say go with Exeter. Even though Cardiff is just as highly regarded academically and is in an amazing city, 3 years is a long time to be in one place, and you will achieve so much more being somewhere you truly want to be. Even without an URNU, Exeter will have an array of sports, activities, challenges (like climbing killimanjaro etc at a highly discounted price) to keep you busy and help stregthen your application further. I would maybe talk to your AFCO regarding URNU, and if not then go Exeter. Just not Plymouth!

4. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator