What Would You Do To Fix The RN?

Discussion in 'The Fleet' started by AB111, Oct 9, 2016.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi.

I've been reading a lot about how the RN is supposedly in a poor state. I have no naval experience, so from my point of view it's nice to know if joining now is a bad idea for instance, but also, it's just really interesting to learn more about the subject.

So, what would you do to fix the (biggest) Royal Navy issues & what would you prioritize first?

From what I can gather, changes in 2000 to pay & branch structures, as well as SDSR reviews in 2010, have gimped the RN. Manpower shortages, equipment shortages, changes to the Queen Elizabeth Aircraft Carriers which limit their potential, lack of funds in general, difficulty with retaining engineers and removal of the Warrant Officer 2 rank, are some of the biggest issues. What needs to happen first, in order to fix things?

Thank you for any contributions :). I wish the best for the RN.
    • Braindead Braindead x 1
  2. Removal of the WO2 rank is a step in the right direction. It was an abortion of a rank in the RN that only lasted 10 years and even then was only available in a few technical branches.
  3. Sell the ships.
  4. severely cut down commitments for 12-18 months. The merry-go-round of people being pinged from ship to ship in incredible. Mostly in technical trades. Reset the clock to to speak and wait for the flood of FARADAY training courses to catch up a bit to the front line.

have a root and branch look at how people are employed on board and make it relevant to the 21st Century (mess man ffs, why?)