Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What the chances?

Britlad

Hey

I rang the RFA, yesterday and asked them to send me the application forms to become a Deckhand, but in the mean time, I was just wondering what you guys think my chances will be of actually getting in;
I got 3 A's 4 B's and 3 C's at GCSE, I'm 17, I work at a theme park while studying for my A levels and I am born and raised in Stoke on Trent, right in the middle of England, so I've got no maritime experience.
so I realize I'm not the perfect candidate considering I'll be competing against guys with 10 years plus naval experience for the job, I'm just asking to get an accurate picture of my chances.

would be good to find out what you guys think.
thanks

trelawney126

War Hero
You'll never know unless you give it a shot. Don't do yourself down there are a lot of interchangeable skills between the RFA and a Themepark

Rumrat

War Hero
You'll never know unless you give it a shot. Don't do yourself down there are a lot of interchangeable skills between the RFA and a Themepark

Like seamanship on the Pirates boat, or navigation on the "Swan lake".
Failing all else, practise your bends and hitches and when perfected and all else fails, get your oppo to beat you (not hate you) with a ropes end. (Everyone thought I was going to say Hang yourself. Herrrrrrrm no better not.:rage::wink:

Sumo

War Hero

When out in a force 9+ just like an endless roller coaster you can not get off:crying:
:pukeleft::pukeleft::puker::puker:

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
R TMU for past bout of depression, what are my chances? Joining the Royal Navy 11
MoD_RSS UK Government further boosts chances of UK receiving COVID-19 vaccine MoD News 0