What other career opportunities and prospects exist after time spent as an RM Officer

Discussion in 'The Corps' started by TPHoldsworth, Jan 20, 2011.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm at that stage where I'm beginning to think about my future,becoming a Royal Marines Officer is something which is largely appealing to me, however I do recognise that it's something I would want to go into on a relatively short term basis (<10). I'd like to know some more details about the application process;What degrees are desirable to have? I'm currently studying applied sport science at a reputable uni which i've been told will be a good basis, Aptitude tests, fitness requirements and any thing which I can do to get a better insight into life in the marines?

what other opportunities exist after life as a royal marines officer, i'm interested especially in deep sea diving for petrochemical companies, which i've been told a little bit about from an ex royal?I'd also like to know any details you can give me about day to day life in the marines and your ability to build a life around the job, Is there enough free time to build a succesful social and family life etc. Any advice especially that given by those who have spent time in the marines or are in service now would be greatly appreciated, I know this question goes off on loads of different tangents but any inside information and experience would really help!

Thanks in advance,
    Tom

2. You don't want much then do you. Oh dear. Why don't you start with "what can you bring to the Corps" and not what you can get out of it. Look on the RN website, visit an AFCO on ring the RN Helpline. If you are officer material, start showing some more initiative.

3. This was a first port of call, thanks anyway.