WEO vs MEO - thoughts?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Sparkasaurus, May 31, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. WEO vs MEO

Hi all,

I was unsuccessful at AIB on my previous attempt but I've decided to take their advice and reapply, this time as an Engineer Officer. My background is civil engineering but I've spent the last year working in cyber and information security - my decision now is which role would I be best suited for.

I initially drifted towards ME on the basis that there are similarities between my academic background and ME and therefore the training gap wouldn't be so large however the CIS aspect of WE interested me. I was wondering if anyone knew how big a part of the role this would comprise?

Thanks,

Sparky

Last edited: May 31, 2014
  2. ImageUploadedByNavy Net - Rum Ration1401563078.929652.jpg

Sent from my iPhone, cos the wife is using MY iPad :(

• Like Like x 2
  3. I suspect you would be fine as either bearing in mind that ship systems are probably different to anything you have studied so far. Some might say infosec and cyber will set you up for WE (especially now they 'own' CIS) and they would be right in thinking them relevant, but they are not bread and butter for junior WE officers. I would suggest trying to speak to some serving Engineers about what they actually do. Academic background and OPDEF writing are not closely related (to pick a trivial example).

4. Depends on wether you want to go Submariner or General Service. In my opinion you sound more suited to going WEO as cyber and IS is definitely within the remit of the WEO rather than the MEO. However.....you may ask to join in the WE stream but depending on the RN requirements you may find that you will be streamed ME.