Weapon Engineering Officer/E(IS)O SIFT interview queries

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by abarrett88, Apr 14, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

First post - i'm currently studying for an MEng in Computer Science (1st year) and i've applied for the DTUS bursary as a Weapon Engineer Officer (formerly as an E(IS)O before they were combined into one). So far so good - I have my SIFT interview tomorrow afternoon and i'm now hopefully as clued up as I'm going to be about the RN's operations/ships/weapons/organisation etc. However, I am having serious trouble finding information about post BRNC officer training and the actual role of the WEO from the point of view of someone who applied as an E(IS). Information on the E(IS)O role seemed incredibly scarce prior to the merger and now I can't find anything comprehensive at all.

I managed to find:
    http://www.navy-net.co.uk/joining-u...-engineer-officer-training-pipeline-help.html

Which detailed the SEMC training for a WEO but is dated 2010 and the two links provided by older_joiner a couple of posts down unfortunately point to dead gov.uk links. Is this information still accurate? So; HMS Collingswood is split into three stages (1, 2, 3A, 3B), following which you are a Deputy Weapons Engineer Officer and then you go on to do a mixture of ship/shore time to get IET accreditation? Does anyone know the breakdown of this ship-time and the end result/commission?