warfare officer rumours

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by charlotte, Feb 12, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there!

I was just wondering if you could clear a few things up for me?

I am applying to become a warfare officer at the moment, I am in my second year at uni and I am studying literature and politics and it is basically the only thing I really want to do. However, I had heard rumours that warfare was oversubscribed and it is extremely hard to get a place at BRNC, I eventually want to become a PWO, but that is thinking way ahead of myself :p My careers office told me that I should go for a pilot but i'm thinking that that is way to scary, but is it as hard to get a place if i were to apply for that position?

I'm also waiting for my date for my sifting interview (im sure thats what they called it!) and what exactly does this entail?

Thanks for taking your time to read this!!

xx

2. If you're confident that you want to go warfare then go for warfare straight from the start, otherwise you could be facing a harder battle to transfer from the Fleet Air Arm to the Warfare branch to go PWO. I've also heard a buzz that pilot is over-subscribed too, but maybe one of the AFCO chappies on here can clear that up?

The 'sifting interview' is just an interview at the AFCO to determine whether you should be put forward for an AIB or not. Don't worry about it too much, just be yourself.

3. Sweetheart, you're applying for a job in which nasty foreigners might well try to kill you. If flying an aircraft strikes you as frightening are you sure warfare officer is the career for you?

4. It ebbs and flows, applicants are in competition for the places available, and there are always more candidates than places. If you have confidence in your abilities then crack on and go for it.