Walt check please for old and bold please.

Discussion in 'The Corps' started by inbredyokel, Oct 7, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hope some sweats can help me out on this.
    I'm working on board a cargo ship these days, and my boss has made a claim that raised my eyebrow more than a little.
    Now I was an 'orrible pongo who did AACC yeeeeeears ago, and I think I have some knowledge of how CTC used to work.
    My boss (who is funnily enough a complete throbber) was an RN Gunnery type, he claims that he worked as a non commando trained "Northern Ireland Instr" at CTC at some point in the 90's....not even sure what that means.

Now if my memory serves all training for NI was conducted by the NITAT team, which was an All Arms team, at Tin City....Lydd and Longmoor (never went to NI).
    Was there any such body at Lympstone who conducted training, and if so were there billets for non commando RN types (exempt females)?
    He's not aboard right now, and I sure that this guy is not on the level.
    Any abuse/help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. sounds like you got yourself a walt !
    the claim doesnt stack up circa late 70S thru 80s and 90s no such training carried out at CTC - cant vouch for before but very unlikley
    maybe some real old and bold can clarify prior to that.
    try and ask your walt when he was there - also what was his Navy SQ ?

Im sure the waltfinder generals will be along soon
  3. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

One of my work colleagues is a Navy Gunner - Chief Ops (Missileman) & cannot recall there being an RN Gunners' billet at CTC in the 80's or 90's.