Unsure of my eligibility

SuperNova

Hi all,
I'm really enthusiastic to join the royal navy as an undergraduate submarine engineer. I meet every other requirement, however, I read that I need:

"160 UCAS points gained from Level 3 STEM qualifications (BTEC, A/A2/AS or equivalents) in an engineering discipline, or in maths and at least one in physical science, engineering or computing subject."

I studied computing and electronics at A level and had a good understanding of the subjects, however my results from exams don't reflect that. I also achieved higher than entry level expected GCSE's. I have a C in both AS and A2 photography however I realise these probaby don't help me whatsoever.

I really badly want to get a place on an apprenticeship as good as this and for something like this to trip me up would be so disappointing.
I've been training for 3 weeks now, completed my psychometric test and have done all the necessary homework for my interview, and I really want to know whether something like this would be a big issue.
Thanks in advance-
Joe

ElQuesoGrande

Lantern Swinger
"160 UCAS points gained from Level 3 STEM qualifications (BTEC, A/A2/AS or equivalents) in an engineering discipline, or in maths and at least one in physical science, engineering or computing subject."

Means

It's in black and white.

Ninja_Stoker

War Hero
The question asked, although not stated, is: "Are academic waivers available for this scheme?" Photography and an underscore in relevant A Level subjects...Hmmmn, Unsure - Really?

AS grades below B are not accepted, A2 below D is not accepted. Photography - is that a STEM subject?

Answer: Probably not, but worth an ask via your AFCO.

It's a cracking scheme, albeit over-subscribed & I cannot fault anyone wishing to explore the remote opportunity to double their starting wage and triple their advancement prospects.