University or Apprenticeships?

Discussion in 'Current Affairs' started by slim, Aug 28, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Many years ago only the top students stayed on at school, took GCE "A" levels and if lucky gained entry to a university.
    Those days there were a very limited range of subjects which could be read and most were in useful subjects which were needed for the businesses operating at the time.
    Because degrees were fairly rare things they were respected.
    As a student who never even did GCE "O" subjects and left school with just local qualifications this did not phase me and I found gainful employment as a Trainee manager for a large grocery chain. To do the same today would require that I have a degree.

For the last 20 years various governments have tried to get ALL youngsters to attend university, of course many of them are fairly thick and so universities have catered for this by introducing courses which are piss easy to pass but result in a degree at the end of three years or so. These degrees are fkn useless but the poor kid who has one doesn't know this and anyway he now has a £10,000 loan to think of paying off.

Isn't it time for schools to turn out Artisans again, those who may not be academically inclined but can do great things with their hands.
    This country needs more plumbers, sparkies, brickies, joiners and the like.
    All these trades pay well and in some cases the artisans are earning far more than a degree holding ArtyFarty pleb.

If we reverted to only teaching degrees for subjects which are in demand perhaps we could end student fees and the need for student loans.

Your thought Please!