Uniform....

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by d_menace, Jul 18, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ok im a newbie here and would like to start of by saying hello and thank you to all service men and women!

Im going off in to the navy in 2 days and was wondering if anyone could help me with a little issue ive been having,
    While im in Raleigh i will be also havin a month summer holiday during it, and was wondering if we can wear uniform for when we get off for summer... i want to wear my uniform for my grandad to see as this may be the last time i see him as he is in poor health :( do you think i would be allowed if asked nicely? or should i not bother asking?

Many thanks to all who reply.
    Deniz

2. Deniz,

Take it, wear it and make your Grandad very proud. Wearing of uniform in public is actively encouraged now, and so as long as you don't end up out of your face in some bar you should be ok. There are others on here who know the rules far better than me but I can't see any problem in (rightly) showing off to your family.

3. Be proud young man, for your Grandads sake, take it home and wear it for him, anyone says that you can`t refer them to me.

4. well, its because i havent yet passed raleigh, the summer break is during my time at raleigh, therefore i am not a RN recruit...so do you think it would be a problem? i mean i will ask whilst im there for sure but i do not want to ask something stupid and make them think im a fool...

Thank you for replying!
    Deniz

5. Why would anyone think that you are a fool? If they do, as i`ve said, refer them to me, if not me, this site.

6. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Assuming you actually get issued your uniform in the short time before you go on summer leave there's absolutely no reason why not, whether you've finished training or otherwise.