UGAS or University?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by dwade98, Aug 30, 2016.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all!
    I know there are very similar threads out there on this topic but I've been torn up on deciding whether to join the Royal Navy on the Undergraduate Apprenticeship Scheme or to join a University and find a career in mechanical engineering on 'civvy street'. I am currently in my 1st year of sixth form and soon to be starting my 2nd year within the next couple of weeks.

After visiting my local AFCO and University (The University of Sheffield) I have ultimately come down to these conclusions.
    UGAS-Study a BEng in Mech Engineering (Hons) with no student debt
    -Starting salary of £31,000 rising to £42,500 after 4 years and to £48,500 at the end of the course
    -Become a Cat B Nuclear Watchkeeper and gain significant engineering experience

University-Study a MEng in Mech Engineering (Hons) with £36,000 course debt+£22,000 accommodation
    -Opportunities to study abroad and take a year off with a self organised work placement

At the moment I seem fairly set on going with UGAS although I do have a few questions if anyone could answer them.
    -What is social life like as a submariner?
    -What are the job prospects like for someone who finishes their time in the service?
    -Would I be maturing too quick by joining the RN straight from sixth form and skipping University life?

And lastly
    -How does life in the Royal Navy differ to life as a University student?

Cheers! :)

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Hmnn, difficult shout.

Get a job, earn £95,500, three years promotional hands-on life-experience and a nuclear engineering degree or stay in education, rack-up £52,000 debt and earn a degree with little by way of practical work experience?