Type 45's

Discussion in 'Current Affairs' started by seafarer1939, Apr 9, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I read in the paper this weekend that the Type 45's are to be fitted with Microsoft NT electronics and it would cost too much to update it.
    Now I'm no computer expert but as it is stated this system crashes often surely it was not beyond the brains of the MOD to leave room for updates in computer system.
    The ships depend on it and,although I'm no fan of the French,they are spot on with electronics and the Yanks would also not persue such a stupid decision and risk servicemens lives by not having methods to update whenever needed.
    Even a poor computer user like me is on Vista so what's going on?
    Still the MOD says they are happy with it,lets hope the excocets fly pretty slow or we will be in deep shit.
    Or can someone put me right as it seems crazy to me.

2. I'm sure there is a plan to update the system. However, if you are designing, testing and integrating a combat system (particularly one as complex as the DNA fit on T45) over a period of (say) ten years, a line has to be drawn somewhere as to equipment and software configuration to allow design, integration and test, which is what is happening on Portsdown Hill and somewhere off the south of France. Care to hazard a guess as to the state of the art COTS operating system around six to eight years ago?

Now, sensible folk might well try and put a programme together to periodically refresh the hardware, operating system and actual software, but given the number of lines of code, it ain't going to happen overnight and it ain't going to happen cheaply. Does it survive first contact with teh beancounters?

3. thanks for that,it still puzzles me as the science reporter said it crashed every 200 hours without fail!