Transfer of Civvy Range quals to the RN

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by spur52, Sep 30, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Im due to start at Raleigh on 21st march 2010 as an ET(WE) and although it doesnt pertain to me just yet, once i have passed out of Raleigh and have officially reached the dizzy heights of a baby engineer, can i transfer my civvy range quals into the RN.

I hold Range Conductor Quals in civvy street (SA(SR)07) but wasnt sure if the RN would recognise them.

2. What the does the qualification allow you do to do. From what I read it allows you to use cadet weapons.

I doubt it will have any relevance in RN, but I'm no expert. I'm pretty sure you will have to do all the same training as everyone else once you get in

3. Not entirely sure whether they would be recognised, very much doubt it but the point I would make is that it would be very unwise to bring it up to the range staff during training. If having some experience helps you along then great, but dont be the nobber who comes across as someone who thinks they know it all....BIG mistake!!

4. Your best course of action is to wait until you get to the NMT school for your small arms training. Make sure that your instuctors know right from the get go that you are more qualified to conduct the training than they are.
    Demonstrate your strength of character by refusing to be shouted down on this issue, its the only way you will get any respect.

Good luck

5. the_matelot

the_matelot War Hero Moderator

Top advice there. Clanky knows what he's on about. Don't back down when you're on the range-make sure you tell them what quals you've got. :thumright:

6. Nothing wrong with butts party, we all had to do it at some point lol

7. Don't want to dash your hopes. In 22 years I fired a 303 u/t at Raleigh.