Transfer from army to navy q's.

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Barra, Jan 30, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I hope someone can answer a few questions for me. I am an ex Royal Signals soldier who left in 2003 and rejoined as MPGS in 2010 at a RNAS. Thing is, rejoining has stirred something up in me an I now realise I can offer a lot more than lifting a barrier up and down for the next 20 years. What I'd like to do is transfer into the F.A.A. And try for AET. Don't get me wrong, MPGS is easy and I get shed loads of time off but I want a challenge. So, can anybody answer me the following:

1. Would I be required to complete the full phase 1 training at Raleigh?

2. I have a SFA house and would I be entitled to it during phase 1 and 2 training? ( wife has her own career as a nurse here so this is probably the most important question)

3. Will I be able to stay on an equivalent pay increment or can I expect to drop wages?

I hope I haven't posted I the wrong bit or feel free to move this post.

Thanks, Barra.

2. Thanks for the prompt reply, I'll dig that jsp out and digest it on shift.

3. Can't resist it, you've been stirred and want a challenge. So you wave decided to be a WAFU?. I can't like this one I have to love it!

Seriously all the best with it and Ta for the smile it induced.

4. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

1) Yep, if successful, you should expect start from scratch with Initial Naval Training.