To join or not to join?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by 2009poolesparky, Dec 13, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello everyone, I'm after some help, more reassurance really.
    Ok this is my situation. I applied to join the navy back in feb this year. As an ETME.
    I've had all my tests and my interview and security check. I am now just waiting to hear more from the afco.
    I can't wait to start my training!
    However, I currently work as an electrician building the new hms queen Elizabeth carrier at Pompey navy base. I like to talk to the sailors and ask them what it's like in the service, I even rent a room and live with 2 sailors.
    But recently everyone I talk to that is in the navy says not to join and that it's rubbish. I am only 23 and have to say I earn a fairly good wage as a marine electrical contractor, so I would be taking a pay cut by joining, however I like the sound of the lifestyle. I'm a keen dinghy sailor and love sports and I know this is something I can do in the service. But all this negative talk about the navy and people telling me not to join is getting to me a bit, what do people think? I want a career in the marine industry but I think the RN looks a lot better than the MN.
    Thanks in advance
    Alex

2. sgtpepperband

sgtpepperband War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

This is something that only you can decide. Everybody - especially matelots - will mank and moan about their jobs (I'm sure there are aspects of your work that you don't enjoy) and it is true that the grass isn't always greener on the other side... but would your flatmates be dripping if they were currently sitting on a beach in the Caribbean rather than cold and miserable Pompey? I doubt it. :wink: