To buy or not to buy...

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by Rhinoback, May 25, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I've been informed form various sources that it's a good idea to by some boots before you go off to Raleigh, that way having time to break them in before hand. I was wondering if people agreed with this and to ask if they have to be the "issue" boots or if I could buy a better model?

Thanks in advance guys! :w00t:

Rhino.

2. What? You'll have had your kit for at least 6 months before you get to Raleigh, plenty of time.

3. Hiya Dunkers,

I've got my No. 4's, inc. work boots but I was lead to believe that we would be doing running etc in combat boots when at Raleigh, hence the requirement to wear them in first?

I've only been training for 2 months so I am still very new to all this.

Rhino.

4. If I remember rightly you will be given a pair on loan when you get there, they have already been used a lot before, so will be well worn in etc.

5. If you bring your own boots they can only be worn on Dartmoor, you'll still have to use the loan boots on camp when you're doing things like the obstacle course and orienteering.

A few of us got blisters on Dartmoor using the loan ones, depends whether you'd rather have blister-free feet or keep the £50 it'd cost to buy some in your pocket. I went for the latter, but I'm a tight b***ard.

If you do buy some they don't have to be the same as the issue model. If you've already got some hiking boots just take them.

6. As a full timer there isnt that much running in boots. So as a reservist there must be even less. I woudnt bother if i was you. When cutting around camp they probably would only want you in issue boots any way.

7. Thanks for the tips guys. It will be a while yet before I'm there anyway, I've got my test next week so I'm still at the start of the process! :whew: