TMO and previous service

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by whatsaship, Jan 31, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Evening ladies and gents,

First, a caveat, I've been lurking unregistered for a week now and with the aid of the search function and mighty google have read the threads from last Oct going back to 2011 on the TM job, so hopefully the questions to follow will be pertinent and a bit informed at least.

I am a serving soldier, with family, looking at opportunities to commission. I am a graduate and have found I enjoy both training dev, training delivery and management of pretty much anything, I don't mind what I'm doing as long as I can be in the lead. I feel and have been told on a number of occasions I may have outgrown what being an OR can offer me.

I've recently been on a tri-service course where I mentioned I was looking in to the Army ETS branch, someone told me to look in to the Navy schoolies, so I did and I am intrigued! Opportunities to work with Royal, with SM and a variety of jobs both training and CAPs. Good progression to Cmdr and potentially up to star level (this needs quantifying though I think?) I do have some concerns though, so if you're still reading and can help, here goes!

- BRNC as a family man and currently serving; will I lose pay and what's the current sketch with leave, phones etc please? I understand there is block leave and that is at risk owing to AT and whether the IFT ship is about to set off or not around the leave dates? Is there scope to stick the family in a vaguely south-west Englandish quarter for the duration of training and beyond?