Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to join our community
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site, connect with other members through your own private inbox and will receive smaller adverts!

Thinking of leaving Navy

SJ17

Midshipman
Hi,
I served in the Navy as an ETME for 3 years now. I got a degree in electrical engineering and master’s in management before joining Navy. I was supposed to join as an Officer but couldn’t due to waiting time and other limitations when I made my application. I was very focused on joining and took that opportunity. Navy has offered me to go AIB after me getting qualified.
However, I am thinking of leaving the mob soon as I am expecting a baby soon. I dont want my life to be very uncertain. So, what could the possible jobs I could get in Civy street?

Also, if I would be an MEO, would I be on a sea draft or shore draft? Please if anyone could give a rough career progression from phase 2 would be very helpful to me.

Many thanks

Last edited:
Four years in the Navy and you come on an unofficial navy website seeking advice about your career. Heaven help us. You have a DO and if you made it through to being an MEO you would be a DO. Is this a wind op......

With a degree in Electrical Engineering and a Masters in Management (really!!) I would have thought you would have the ability to go to correct sources rather than ask a load of anonymous keyboard warriors :rolleyes:

From your post I believe that the RN is not the place for you.
You do not state if you are ingle or have a partner.
Serving in the RN does involve going to sea otherwise we would be called just The Royal.
As a single person with a child this can involve hardships for both child and parent so this is an important consideration.
You have plenty to offer to potential employers, first being your qualifications followed by the fact that you are a disciplined individual.