Thinking of joining

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by dongus, Aug 10, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all

Im currently a serving civillian police officer and to be honest its not all its cracked up to be. Ive been trying get this job for about 5 years and its pretty dull with loads of paper work burocracy and political correctness.
    Im thinking about a change of direction I have a friend who is ex RNand has told me how much he enjoyed it and its sounds pretty good.
    Im 24 at the mo, what does everyone think am I barking up the wrong tree with this or should I look into it further.

Thanks

2. Bugger a future Chrusher

3. Do it. Be prepared for just as much bullshit and political correctness though. You will also take a mega pay cut.

On second thought, don't do it.

4. Get down to your local AFCO pronto , as a serving plod you should make a good GI.

5. No reason why not, but you'll have to take a pretty substantial pay drop I would think.

You will also find equal ops legislation in the RN so your abhorrence of 'political correctness' may cause you some distress.

6. If you think the RN is going to be any different then you're in for a shock.

7. Is there really as much political correctness as the police.....I wouldnt have thought it was that bad. I know its a diciplined organisation but thats fair enough i realise that.
    I quite like the idea of travelling the world for a living more than anything. As for teh pay drop money aint everything

8. dongus

Do you have any A Levels?

9. I didn't realise coppers got paid that much!! What branch would you be looking at? Defo best off to head down to your local AFCO to check things out. If you're wanting to go in as an officer then there are age limits, so you don't want to leave it too late pondering when you can get the ball rolling straight away.