Thinking of joining the Navy as a Warfare Officer

Discussion in 'The Fleet' started by Tom, Mar 4, 2011.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Tom

Tom

Hi all,

I've recently shown an interest in joining the Royal Navy as a Warfare Officer, reason being as I've been told that this is the only position that enables me to eventually captain my own ship? Also, I feel it would be a role I would enjoy more, compared to logistics for example. I'm currently in my first year at 6th form studying maths, english lang, geography and business and hope to go to Liverpool Uni, and join the Navy after a degree in International Business (I think). I also hope to attend URNU.

Should I join the Navy straight after my A-levels or should I go on to Uni before hand?

Can I do degrees whilst I'm in the Navy? If so what kind?

How easy is it to progress onto further ranks, whilst being an officer?

...that is if everything goes well, as I've heard it's very competitive to become an officer...not helped by the recent redundancies imposed by the government.

I know many questions, but I want to make the right decision, hope you can help!

Thanks!

2. right, I've got a cuppa, sit down a mildly long reply....

1. Go to the Newbies forum, have a look there, there's loads of info available.

2. In order:

Should I join the Navy straight after my A-levels or should I go on to Uni before hand?