Thinking about joining as ATC. Help?

Discussion in 'The Fleet Air Arm' started by Sophage, Jul 5, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I like the idea of Air Traffic Control but I heard off somebody in the FAA that most ATCs fulfill other roles such as sea spec. (Someone who transferred from warfare) Is this likely to happen or are there any ATCs can spin me a dit about the job? Thanks in advance

Sophie

2. ATCs are Officers, who act nearly always as Air Traffic Controllers. Aircraft Controllers are Ratings, who will on entry spend a year or two as an AWT in order to grow their Ops Room experience before taking their Leading Aircraft Controller's (LAC) course and tactically controlling helicopters.

There was a AC around here, but I haven't seen him for a while.

Edit - therefore, which role are you talking about? As a Warfare Officer I worked closely with the LAC, and he was almost exclusively focussed on Flight stuff. We also had a NA(AC), and she did a bit more "whole ship" stuff, but they need you to understand about where the helicopter/flight fits into the rest of the ship to allow you to provide the right advice.

As for ATCs, they're a bit like Naval Doctors: they do damn near exactly the same job as their civvy equivalents, however they a) understand what we do (to an extent) and b) the RN reserves the right to send them somewhere hot & sandy at short notice!

Last edited: Jul 5, 2014
  3. AC Rating. So its as if my time as an AB is just gaining experience in order to get promoted to my job? Also, what are deployment times like for ACs? Something that needs to be taken into consideration with a mortgage and husband in Yeovil.