The Royal Navy: what's needed for the future?

Discussion in 'The Fleet' started by Jay_Nine, Nov 9, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Umm... hi. I'm not really sure how best to go about this, this being my first post and all...

I'm currently studying at university with the hopes to become an author. (I'm physically incapable of joining the Forces as I have flat feet, rubbish senses, and unreliable and imprecise muscle coordination, much to my annoyance, so I'm stuck settling for second best.) I've nearly finished the manuscript of my first novel, and recently began planning the second in the series.

My main interest is in writing contemporary and realistic military thrillers, and if at all possible to try and get the general public interested in looking out for our armed forces. The first two books of the series focus around the exploits of a small group of former British soldiers working as PSCs, how they've ended up in their careers, that sort of thing, but I'm building up in them to the third.

Book Three, which has the current working title of 'The Lion Awakens', will be much larger in scope, and involves, among other things, the appointment of an effective (and ex-Forces) Minister for Defence, the shakeups that he introduces (including a general expansion in the size of the Armed Forces) and various crises that arise requiring the Forces and HMG to deal with them. It will be set sometime between 2013 and 2015.