The old Ark Royal and Eagle - size of lower hangar?

Discussion in 'History' started by Stewartg, Jan 12, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, a newbie here with a historical question on the old Ark and Eagle.

I'm looking for confirmation (or not) that both ships progressively had the aft ends of their lower hangars "filled in" with accommodation, storage and so on.

I had a look at their Ships' Covers years ago and that's what they said, but I can't find any confirmation in published sources.

Any assistance gratefully received!

2. I served in Eagle from 65 to 67 and Ark from 74 to 76. At no time was any of the lower hanger purloined for storage of accommodation.
    Radio Workshops was located Aft of the lower hanger.

3. HMS Victorious sailed From Sydney Friday 28 th June1946 with 619 war brides in the Hangar accommodation :thumright: :thumright: :thumright:

4. OK, but to be clear, was the lower hangar the same length (364') as the upper one, or was it shorter?

(I mean between the forward and aft lifts; I know the upper hangar had an extension forward of the forward lift.)

And was the lower hangar different in size between the two ships?

Thanks again.

5. The lower hanger was shorter than the upper hanger.
    The upper hanger could be accessed by both the after lift and the fwd lift. The lower hanger could only be accesed by the fwd lift.

6. Brilliant. Exactly what I was after.

My understanding is that they were designed and originally built with both hangars the same length, but the lower one was progressively cut down from the aft end.

E.g. Ark lost the aftmost 69' of the hangar in 1958/59 and a further 78' in the 1966-70 Phantomisation refit.

Can you recall whether the sizes of the lower hangar were different between the two ships?