temporary medicaly unfit - how long should it take

hello there everyone
I know this has probably been asked on many occasions however.
I am currently in the process of joining as an MCD and have hit a stalling block/ administration constipation of now over 5 months
by being labelled as temporally medically unfit for a concussion I had nearly 7 years ago. I had my medical (second as the first was apparently not carried out properly) back in March and I am still waiting for a response. each time I call my AFCO to enquire I am told ' we will call you when it comes through'' Am I being fobbed of or is it usual for it to really take this long. is it better to sit and twiddle my thumbs or will bugging them till it happens be the solution. on the plus side it is longer for me to keep training for! but it would be nice for some movement to happen soon.
thanks every and be nice its my first time on here

Ninja_Stoker

War Hero
It is likely your case has been forwarded to the Diving Medicine Doctors at the Institute of Naval Medicine for review.

I doubt it is of any consolation, but candidates in my AFCO have been waiting a comparable time for a Pulmonary Lung Function Test appointment and my guess is that those serving are processed before those yet to apply.

The frustration is appreciated, but much the same as NHS consultants, there are often waiting lists for medical review.

You could try writing a short, polite letter to your AFCO requesting your letter is forwarded to the Royal Navy Medical Manager for an estimated timespan for your case to be reviewed. If nothing else, it will hopefully highlight that there is a backlog that requires the provision of manpower in order to clear.

thanks Ninja sir very helpful response - guess its twiddle the thumbs and keep running and training then more chance to prepare cant hurt. - always look on the bright side I guess

Wxm123

Midshipman
I am having a second medical tomorrow, will I be doing the complete medical again?