Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tattoos.

Fish-NQY

I'm looking to join the navy as a basic chef, I've read the guidelines on tattoos and I do have my hand and my fingers tattooed. I assume there is literally no possibility of me joining the navy in any capacity? I assume even in catering there are no exceptions made.

Alfacharlie

War Hero
Give your AFCO a bell mate. Couldn't do any harm. But, I know when I joined, it was a no with regards to tatts on hands, neck etc. However, may have changed.

Fish-NQY

I guess asking is all I could do. I was just a little worried about going to the recruitment office and just being laughed out the place due to my body art. Thank you

dapperdunn

War Hero
Book Reviewer
I'm looking to join the navy as a basic chef, I've read the guidelines on tattoos and I do have my hand and my fingers tattooed. I assume there is literally no possibility of me joining the navy in any capacity? I assume even in catering there are no exceptions made.
You might want to try the RLC bud.

WreckerL

War Hero
Super Moderator
As dappers says, the Army have relaxed rules on tats on hands and fingers, the RN still has standards ;)

LeadPencil

Badgeman
You definitely can't join up whilst you have tattoo's visible on your face/neck/hands.

It's taken me 2 years to get rid of my tattoo on my neck.

Antonio555

Midshipman
Hi guys,

When I did RT a while ago the Recruiter said one of the tattoos on my back / neck could be a problem.

He then took a picture on his phone and said they would send off an let me know.

Since then they have progressed with my application and I have heard nothing more about it, I am now at the medical stage.