Tall chef

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by WolfBane77, Nov 29, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I'm looking to join the Royal Navy as a chef, I am 6ft 10inchs and I'm wondering would my height stop me being able to join as a chef?
  2. Might be a little irritating on a submarine but I see no reason why it would preclude you from any job.
  3. Seriously, your bunk might be more of a problem.
  4. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

There are no upper height restrictions, but as rightly stated -bunk beds maybe a bit of a squeeze.

Ironically, some of the tallest matelots I've seen (6foot 6inches & taller) always seem to serve in the submarine service - one job I'd have thought more cramped for space than most.

Someone's bound to mention a career destined to be right-hand marker in a marching squad, so I guess it may as well be me. It could be worse, you could have ginger hair.
  5. As a chef your height would definitely be advantageous, who in their right mind is going to complain about the scran?:p
  6. Any Matloet who doesn't like the food :p brave bunch Matloets :)
  7. Matloet? A small matelot?
    • Funny Funny x 1
  8. Its not just in the kitchen that you're going to be stooped. The Frd (Emergency) Store on a 23 is about 3 foot high. And that's being generous!
  9. In which case everyone will have to stoop but not quite as much as the OP.
  10. Fixed the problem

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Indeed. It was a nightmare storing ship and making the daily issue :(
  12. You may have a problem with short crust pastry.
    • Funny Funny x 3
  13. I served with a WAFU who was about 6'8".

He had special freak uniform with extra bits sewn onto the legs of his trousers and ovies.