Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tall chef

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm looking to join the Royal Navy as a chef, I am 6ft 10inchs and I'm wondering would my height stop me being able to join as a chef?

Ninja_Stoker

War Hero
There are no upper height restrictions, but as rightly stated -bunk beds maybe a bit of a squeeze.

Ironically, some of the tallest matelots I've seen (6foot 6inches & taller) always seem to serve in the submarine service - one job I'd have thought more cramped for space than most.

Someone's bound to mention a career destined to be right-hand marker in a marching squad, so I guess it may as well be me. It could be worse, you could have ginger hair.

slim

War Hero
As a chef your height would definitely be advantageous, who in their right mind is going to complain about the scran?:p

dapperdunn

War Hero
Book Reviewer
Its not just in the kitchen that you're going to be stooped. The Frd (Emergency) Store on a 23 is about 3 foot high. And that's being generous!

2_deck_dash

War Hero
I served with a WAFU who was about 6'8".

He had special freak uniform with extra bits sewn onto the legs of his trousers and ovies.

He used to sleep on a bottom bunk with his feet resting on a chair and in all seriousness he suffered from terrible back problems due to sleeping in a cramped bunk space for 12 years.

Last time I spoke to him, he was in the process of being medically discharged due to his back snags.

BillyNoMates

War Hero

BusterQuin

War Hero
On the Invincible in 84 a WEM joined who was 7'2" the chippies made an extended bunk for him and bolted it onto lockers in a corner of his mess. Even on a carrier he had to stoop a lot, not sure how long he served

BillyNoMates

War Hero