Submariners' stories.

Discussion in 'Submariners' started by tomjames, Jul 2, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all.

First of all I'd like to say that I'm not a member of the armed forces, though I have tremendous respect for everything that you do.

I'm a writer, commissioned on behalf of a small production company to write a treatment for story about the crew of an astute-style class of RN submarine, focusing on a handful of characters from a junior rating to the XO and captain, their interactions and the conflict that potential female crew could bring.

My research so far has involved various sources (I'm reluctant to contact the MoD at this early stage) however I am very interested in hearing from former/submariners about their recruitment, time at sea, their stories and views.

I'm not looking for state secrets - but would love to get a feel for life on a sub and an idea of the protocol involved and camaraderie experienced - as well as get a few questions answered.

If this is even possible or sounds like something you might be interested in, please shoot me an email.

I'm happy to hear from anyone, and would ideally like to conduct some face-to-face interviews; for which compensation can be offered.

Any additional suggestions with regards to research would be greatly appreciated - I'm looking to create something entertaining, something really authentic and ultimately something that shows the Navy in a positive light.

Thanks

2. =============================

=============================

A reserved welcome to RR,

Researchers, Journos & writers trawling here and at ARRSE often get short thrift, especially when they never return to update contributors on their progress so please be warned in advance*.

Tom,

As 'a writer' it may increase your *credibility here if you are prepared to offer some links to your previous output(s).