Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Studied law - hated it, now want to pursue a career in engineering with the navy

08hjhi

Hi everyone.

I'm currently preparing to put my application in for either the accelerated apprenticeship scheme, or the undergraduate apprenticeship scheme to do engineering with the Navy (im currently undecided which area but I'm leaning towards avionics at the moment).

My background is, I studied and completed a law degree after having no idea what to do with myself after college. Now that I have graduated I can recognise that my decision to go to uni was not made on a long term basis, but just because it filled the next 3 years, and now I realise I hated my degree and have no interest in pursuing any career in or related to law (I think i've always known this but never accepted while I was studying). I massively regret this and wish I'd had thought things through more before uni but I can't change anything now!

I've always had an aptitude for fixing things, working out how things work by taking them apart and putting them back together, and just general DIY jobs and building things (my latest project was building my own FPV drone). With this in mind I've decided that I want to pursue a career in engineering, and I've always had an interest in the military. From my research the navy seem to offer the best apprenticeships out of all the forces and it's just the one I have most interest in anyway.

Before I apply, I need to get a STEM A-level to go along side my maths A-level so that I'm eligible for the apprenticeships I want to go down. I've just started self studying a physics A-level with a view to take the exam in 2021 whilst I get myself fitter and more in tune with the application process etc.