Started my application process, got a few questions...

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by TheFonz, Aug 11, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all, Ill start by introducing myself....

My name is Steve, im 23 years old and live in Tipton in the West Midlands.

Im a practising Mixed Martial Artist with a less than stellar record of 0-3 in the cage (a work in progress haha)

I decided a while ago that its about time I did something with my life as I dont really have any commitments and dont really have alot going for me at this stage. So after a long hard think about things Ive decided to apply to join the Royal Navy.

I went to my local recruitment office today to have a chat with the guys down there and decided to apply for ENGINEERING TECHNICIAN - MARINE ENGINEERING (SUBMARINER)

I hope you guys can help me with a few questions and I apologise if im posting in the wrong section of the forum, mods please feel free to delete this if necessary.

1) Ive done a bit of research and gathered that the waiting time for what ive applied for is roughly 12 months. What does this mean? 12 months til what exactly?

2) Regards to the RT test, I can imagine that the pass grade must be pretty high for an engineering technician? If I dont meet the criteria, will I be offered something more suited to me or is that the end of the line for 12 months?

3) Im a fairly fit guy due to the very demanding training I do in order to fight and compete in my sport. I can do a fair amount of press ups and sit ups and can run 1.5km in the expected time no problem. But I do however think I may have a problem with my BMI (27.7) as Im 6'1 and 210lbs. Im no Adonnis but I carry little fat. Could this be an issue with the medical?

Massive apologie for the rant but im excited and hope you can all help me with the questions.

Steve

2. Hi and welcome.