Speaking about the RN on the internet

Paxman_Valenta

Lantern Swinger
I'm fairly active on twitter and a few people that I interact with know what I do for a living. I don't say what it is I do, nor where i've been or wheat I've been on. But anyway, I got asked a question the other day from a person I know who was asking general questions about life away and accommodation onboard etc.

Before I could even answer the questions I received a private message from the official Royal Navy twitter account saying that they "must insist that such official communications are the responsibility of the headquarters, not individuals."

There is also a DIN out (2016DIN 03-29) that goes into great detail about communication with the public and applies to all military and civilian staff.

I'm not wanting to rock the boat but inform those on here who post answers to questions asked by potential recruits about life in the jolly old RN.

Purple_twiglet

War Hero
Sadly the MOD is cracking down on a lot of this - just make clear in your profile that your views don't represent that of the RN. There are multiple RN personnel on twitter who do this and post just fine. Also be careful with retweeting stuff that may be controversial.

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
MoD_RSS Thérèse Coffey’s speaking notes from the OECD event MoD News 0
MoD_RSS Minister for Equalities Baroness Williams speaking at the Government Equalities Office's LGBT Leadership Summit MoD News 0
MoD_RSS Amanda Spielman speaking at the Royal Opera House MoD News 0
MoD_RSS Baroness Morgan speaking on how we can make technology work for everyone MoD News 0
MoD_RSS Secretary of State for International Trade Liz Truss speaking at the Velvet Revolution Ball MoD News 0
MoD_RSS Secretary of State Nicky Morgan speaking at the Reform Women's Network MoD News 0
MoD_RSS Minister for Women and Equalities Liz Truss speaking at the FT's Women at the Top event MoD News 0