Some questions on MAs, Open University, and the Silent Service

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Mr_Gillette, Oct 10, 2017.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Evening, ladies and gentlemen *cough cough*,

I've been trying to find a bit of information about how much sea time MA(GS) and MA(SM) currently do. I've read on other threads that MA(GS) tend to not do much time at sea and I wanted some clarification on that as well as whether it is the same for MA(SM).

This kinda leads me into my next question about the OU.

The MA(SM) role is definitely what I want to do, however I am currently studying with the OU and I want to carry on studying after training is done and dusted. How feasible is this on boats, considering my course has both iCMAs and mostly online study materials? Can I take a laptop on deployment? It seems to me that perhaps general service might afford me a little more leeway with studying, would it be advisable to go MA(GS) and then volunteer for boats once I've got the degree out of the way?

Any advice or questions would be great.

Thanks in advance.

2. To be fair, I studied with the OU and if you are out of range they may send you paper versions of the computer based assessments and I'm sure you already know you can submit your essays via mail. I'd still say GS would afford you the greatest opportunity to post off your assignments though!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. I know a few that have done OU's whilst on boats. You can take a laptop to sea but you will be cut off from the world completely for up to 3 months at a time on boats, so forget the internet when you're at sea.

4. Thanks for your responses guys.

I guess all the course content is downloadable so lack of internet probably wont be the biggest problem. Just a thought, are there a lot of charging points on boats for personal electronics?