Some Advice Regarding RMR

Discussion in 'RMR' started by MMAgeek, Jan 21, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all, I'm new to all this military stuff, so I apologise if I ask any stupid questions, but its just my lack of knowledge on the subject matter.

Anyway here goes:

1) I am a keen practioner and competitor in MMA or cage fighting as some of the more 'look at me' people refer to it. Even though it's a legitimate and sanctioned sport, I know alot of peoples perception of it is not the greatest to say the least! So i was just wondering would the RMR frown apon this if i decided to join?

2) My exercise consists of between 10-15 hours per week of Muay Thai Boxing, BJJ, Submission wrestling, boxing, running and swimming; all at a reasonable high intensity. Is there anything I don't know that could assist me with getting into the RMR, like running in boots etc?

3)I am just coming to the end of my Masters Degree, and plan to go into teaching or lecturing. Is there anyone on this forum who also is a teacher, and how achievable is it being a teacher and in the RMR?

4)What are the differences in joining my local TA infantry as opposed to the RMR apart from the fitness level differences?

5)To pay for my academic studies, I am a head doorman at a local nightclub, and might have problems making some of the weekends. Would this be unacceptable?

6) How comparable is an RMR member who has completed all his training to a regular RM?

Thanks for your time and advice

2. wet_blobby

wet_blobby War Hero Moderator

Hi MMAgeek, welcome to RR mate. Cant see cage fighting as being a problem, it shows you have disipline and are a fit fcuker. I knew alot of booties in the late 80's that did bare knuckle fighting..... that was frowned upon.