Social side of the RFA

Discussion in 'RFA' started by Dannybongo19, Nov 24, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hi all,

I'm 19 and wondering if there is alot of people my age doing cadetships? I work with a lot of people of various different ages as I'm an apprentice engineer, however I miss out on alot of fun my mates have with uni, etc... It'd be great to be experience the job/ training with people a similar age to me. If im to be living where I'm training then I'm gonna need mates for piss ups, sports etc.....of course no disrespect to people of contrasting ages, some of the older lads at work are good mates!

Also what opportunities are there for free time whilst away? Whilst Id take my job seriously, one of the reasons I'm applying is to see the world and experience new things. Is there opportunity see the sights, explore, etc..... What about on ship? What recreational facilities are there? What do people think of banter and atmosphere on ship?

Any opinions are welcomed . Cheers.

2. Depends.

If you want a real lads camaraderie sort of experience you'll probably do better in Navy/other forces.

You'll find that at 19 you'll be among the youngest onboard - If you get a group of cadets all about your age you might have a great time, or you might not - it depends hugely as the group are usually relativity small.

When ashore there are opportunities to go do stuff (Waterparks, nights out, sightseeing). Sometimes they'll organise paid trips. But getting the time off to go do something - let alone with your mates - can be hard.

People do go out drinking all the time, but any "unindented after effects" are taken seriously, and as such some might argue that the drinking culture is more occult than what happens in the Navy/Marines (etc).