Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to join our community
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site, connect with other members through your own private inbox and will receive smaller adverts!

So you want to join the Navy?

Hi folks, first of all - to all the brave souls who have joined and want to join the Navy I must thank you for your service.

My name is Elliott and I am a strength and conditioning coach based in south Essex, I've been working with a young man named Michael who will be setting out tomorrow for his 4 day training course - all things going to plan he will be deploying in May.

Michael came to me initially as he wanted to learn how to olympic lift, a noble endeavour. However, after a few discussions it became clear that his real priorities were making sure he was Navy fit.

Let me clarify that last statement, being Navy fit is a whole different ball game to being gym fit. It goes above and beyond being able to bench press your body weight and looking 'shredded'. Being able to move, run, jump, duck etc at pace - holding a 14lb rifle or a piece of ship/submarine is its own type of 'fit'.

So after some discussion I asked Michael if I should share some of the things we have done to prepare him and he said it would be a good idea. So here goes!

My top 3 tips for being Navy Fit:

1. Specificity

When we looked at the 4 day course he was attending there was a big emphasis on the 2.4km run and the push up/sit up test. However, during the last 6 weeks Michael has only run once a week and completed press ups twice a week. His workouts, however are not body building or 1 rep maxing as again this is completely non-specific.

Try to get 3 sessions in during the week that are specific enough that you can do what you need to do but also go beyond what is required of you on the day and make you stronger, faster and have increased work rate.

2. Nutrition