So there!

Discussion in 'Diamond Lil's' started by SONAR-BENDER, Aug 21, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Just found this on MSN.

Jennifer Aniston has waded into fresh controversy - after using the word 'retard' in a TV interview.

While promoting her new film The Switch on American talk show Live With Regis And Kelly, the US actress accidentally let the word slip as she was chatting about the Harper's Bazaar photo shoot where she channelled Barbra Streisand.

"I play dress up, I do it for a living, like a retard," she said.

Jennifer - who also caused a furore after claiming women don't need men to raise healthy families - has already been given a talking to from Special Olympics and The Arc charity, who called her comment "extraordinarily offensive and inappropriate".

"Frankly, someone in her position ought to know better. She is using language that is offensive to a large segment of the population in this country," Peter Bern, CEO of The Arc, said in a statement to E! News.

"Every time folks hear that word, it kind of reminds them of all the discrimination and oppression they've experienced in their lives. Even if it wasn't intended to insult them, that is the effect of it."

Special Olympics also replied in a statement to E! News: "Special Olympics is always disappointed when the R-word is used, especially by someone who is influential to society.

"The pervasive use of the R-word, even in an off-the-cuff self-deprecating manner, dehumanises people with intellectual disabilities and perpetuates painful stereotypes that are a great source of suffering and negative stigma."

So there - you have been told. No more references to 'Mongs', 'Window lickers' or even 'Retards'!!

Discuss!! :D