slow pulse

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by werqpr, Dec 16, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. i went for an ECG today and i've just this second got off of the pnone to the nurse, she said it appears all is fine EXECPT i seem to have a low pulse rate????? can anybody shed some light on this??
  2. janner

janner War Hero Book Reviewer

I'm guessing here and stress that I have little medical knowledge, but, I would say that your pulse is lower than average. :dwarf:
  3. How Low??
  4. she didnt say how low, but i've just taken my resting pulse and it's 54,
  5. Normal human pulse should be about 70. however in athletic people it can be lower, so if your are exercising regularly this may be normal.

If, on the other hand, you are a lazy toad,, then this heart rate would be lower than normal and worth doing some investigations into, especially if you feel light headed or have any other symptoms. It is also possible, but more unlikely, that you can have a low heart rate without any issues.

As a rule - younger people have faster heart rates than older people.

Bottom line, if you are athletic then it is okay, otherwise you should consult a doctor.
  6. Have you tried asking the nurse who told you.
  7. 54 is fine. If your not displaying symptoms like light headedness or dizzyness then it might just be that your an athletic fellow. I take it the ECG was okay??

If in doubt PM angrydoc as i've been out of the field of medicine for quite a few months.
  8. thanks, she said the ECG was fine, i have been doing alot of running lately especilly the last 2 weeks i've been runng about 4 miles every day, although before i was trying to join i wasnt doing much at all, so to claim to be an athletic fellow would be daft! but as i said before i've really uped the running so maybe i shouldnt worry to much