Sleepwalking Discharge - can I get more money?

Hi shipmates, so I'm being discharged next Tuesday (9th February) via medical board. I know this as had a board in October, and was advised by the board president that "no one is retained in the navy if they sleep walk" so, I was given 3 months to get my affairs (resettlement) prior to another board. (Which I'm very grateful for the navy for).

My question (s) is:
1st question: what grading of medical payouts are there? As I know if you loose limbs, eyesight, is most serious grading. Where does sleepwalking come into the grading?

I am a marine engineer, and would like to stay in the marine world, hopefully work on yachts, however this will affect my medical records. Most likely I'll fail a civi medical board to work on boats or at sea. Therefore as my condition will affect my future employment shouldn't this be reflected on my medical payout as I'm not fully employable in the area I would most like....

2nd question: will I get a medical pension?

Many thanks,

Last edited:

Waspie

War Hero
As you're still in until next Tuesday. Use Monday and Tuesday to research using service facilities.

Doubtful if any one on this unofficial naval site has experience of this. (But you never know)!!!

Good luck and hope you get whatever you're after. (Financially).

Taztiff

War Hero
I didn't get kicked out after sleepwalking on board.
Didn't even know I did it as I was asleep. Killick steward saw me bimbling down the wardroom flat.

There's money involved!! Medical pension!! Get a grip. To be paid a medical pension for sleepwalking takes the piss out of those with real issues who don't get anything.
Sorry I'm being harsh, my lad is about to leave after being diagnosed with something a lot more serious then sleepwalking and he will get naff all.

Dusty70

War Hero