Sifts interview

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by sophielou007, Dec 30, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Heya,

I am currently studying up for my second attempt of the SIFTS interview and I am stuck on one part of my knowledge. I was wondering if anyone knows what the career path (including the enrolment) is, following the interview and where it takes place for an Air Traffic Control Officer? Please.

Thanks for your time,

2. Hi Sophie

Welcome to Rum Ration!

If you pass your Sift Interview with the ACLO and, following that, your FATS, your papers will be sent up to the AIB and your AIB will probably take place in the spring.

Some useful info on the role of an Air Traffic Control Officer here:

Where do you think you tripped up on the Sift the first time round?
  3. ATC training is:

Grading at RNAS Yeovilton (approx 2 weeks). Culminates in a 45 minute session on a radar simulator directing blips around the screen to test your aptitude.

Part A - JATCC (Joint Air Traffic Control Course) at RAF Shawbury, 27 weeks. Theory work, but mostly practical learning on radar simulators and the visual control point simulator.

Part B/C - Yeovs or Culdrose as a trainee until you are fully qualified in all controlling positions there. This takes upto 18 months.

On completion you start your first job at wherever you've done your part B/C training at.

Not totally sure what you mean by 'enrolment', but if you mean minimum return of service it's 3 years from the day you commence JATCC (though this keeps seeming to change).
  4. Sophie have you done your FATS for air traffic before they cleared you at SIFT level?

Best of luck with everything.

5. 2 week grading?! Only took me an afternoon....
  6. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Welcome to the site, or 'Heya back at ya', if you prefer.