Should universities take into account applicants' class?

Should class be taken into account?

• Total voters
NO NO AND NO AGAIN. Sorry to shout but this subject really made me mad when I heard it on the news yesterday. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Just because I have a degree and a decent income, why should this have a potentially detrimental effect on my kids ability to get to Uni should they have the academic ability and want to go down that line.

Yet another bunch of stupid bloody targets to be achieved - look what targets have done for every organisation or body the government have interfered with - totally taken them away from common sense and actually achieving what they are there to do and focus on performance and targets just so the government can say what a great job they do for yet another minority group.

If my kids work hard at school and I can afford to send them to Uni, they should have that opportunity open to them as much as some kid who has been causing problems in comp school for years and parents are on the dole.

If positive action is needed to help individuals then I will support this, as long as it is fair, equal and accessible to all.

sara21

Lantern Swinger
All this positive discrimination larky annoys me! I was in M&S collecting my weekly shop last week, a man with ONE arm was packing my bags!!!! World gone mad!

kingoftwigs

War Hero
Surely I am reading this wrong, from what I understand of the article, if you went to uni, your child goes to a good school, works hard and gets good results, they may not get into uni themselves. This can not be right. This can only lead to social dumbing down.

Oil_Slick

War Hero
kingoftwigs said:
This can not be right. This can only lead to social dumbing down.

And that is the whole point of the exercise… NuLabour want's a population of dumbed down pre-conditioned drones who will vote as ordered for the greater good of the party