Should I even be considering this?

When I was younger I always swore I'd give it a real crack at joining the RM. I don't think that's for me.

I am still interested in joining the RN, but in a job that's a little less 'killing machine'.

I'm hoping there would be a way to get in for a few years, learn some skills and have a better standing later in life.
(I also wouldn't mind using it to move to a different part of the commonwealth at a later stage)

Anyway..

The worries I have are as follows..

1. Work history - not exactly the best, it's quite on and off. Never really had any stability in anything from an early age. I want to improve my life and I'm not worried because I don't have 4yrs/ or want to give 4yrs, it's just that I've never done anything for 4yrs before. Why would I stick at this any better than any other job? And how can I persuade them to let me find out if this is really what will keep my focus?

2. Mental health - there have been a couple of bouts of what I guess is depression in my life and also drug use, I think from being unable to find direction. I've spoken to councillors and told them, in depth, about some thoughts I've had- which have been quite dark.

I want something that will grip me and turn my life around. Something I can be proud of..
Will a shoddy work history and a couple of dark episodes in my life prevent this, or might I get the opportunity to prove myself.

Ninja_Stoker

War Hero
When I was younger I always swore I'd give it a real crack at joining the RM. I don't think that's for me.

I am still interested in joining the RN, but in a job that's a little less 'killing machine'.

I'm hoping there would be a way to get in for a few years, learn some skills and have a better standing later in life.
(I also wouldn't mind using it to move to a different part of the commonwealth at a later stage)

Anyway..