SG2 Intake

Discussion in 'RFA' started by dch2005, Jun 3, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys

Long time since I last posted on here!

2 tears ago I did my AIB for deck cadet and failed. I was asked to come back the following year again, but decided against it due to circumstances at home.

Even though I failed this, it didn't stop me from wanting to join the RFA as its the only career path I have ever wanted to join.

After some real thought I realised that officer is too much of a jump for me and I would rather be more hands on as a rating. I would love a career as a motorman as I have an interest in engineering, through my father being an engineer in London. However I have no experience in this field.

Firstly I wanted to ask you guys if going from AIB as Deck cadet to SG2 will go against me and secondly whether having no experience will do the same?

2. exJenny

exJenny War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

Another forum member is now an SG2 after originally going for his AIB twice. No reason it should hold you back at all.

Lack of experience should not be an issue either.

Just the thoughts of a blonde, ex wren. Don't blame me if it all goes tits up!
    • Like Like x 1
  3. That's good to hear. Am I correct in saying you are currently doing your training exJenny?
  4. exJenny

I finished a few months back.

5. Nice one. How are you finding it so far? I'm guessing you will start your first 4 months at sea soon as well?
  6. exJenny

Well worth the effort. Good luck with your application.

7. If you've finished your training what epaulettes you go on Jenny? ^~

I'm currently RFA SG2 writing this during my Phase 1 training at HMS Raleigh, so if you've got any questions, ask away.
  8. exJenny