Sembawang and Singapore

Discussion in 'The Quarterdeck' started by McCloggie, Dec 14, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi everyone - new to the site.

My background is 15 years RNR which included a 5 year full time stint, back to the offshore oil and gas business, and then one of the many that were retired after "Options for Change".

I am now working in Sembawang on a project, and there are still signs of the old firm here.

So, anybody have memories of Sembawang? A lot of changes here I know, but there are still some of the old places left and it would be good to hear about what it was like a few years ago.

2. Last I was down there the majority of the Hawkers where located around Clarke Quay. Have they been moved on?? A nice little Indonesian eating hole on the quay none to happy about the rat catcher with the rat in a cage going into the kitchens. Stay away from the meat balls.
  3. Aint no Hawkers round Clarke Quay now!

Its OK but a yuppie/tourist place - microbreweries, comedy club, nightclubs and expensive riverside eating places that are NOT hawker standard but restaurant type places.

Having said that - we still all go sometimes!

4. On the subject of rats however...........

Had rats in the ceiling in the office in the yard. The Pied Piper and his oppo come along, put down glue boards in the roof space, and a couple of days later we all see one plywood board with one very live, very cross, large rat stuck to said board being taken out for disposal!

We still have to de-rat the ship of course which will be another interesting exercise considering the numbers around here.

5. On 845 in the mid/late '60's on the Rusty B, stayed in B Block for almost 3 months after Borneo.