Sea (Res) Deployment...

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by rnrstu, Jan 23, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm currently a new entry, on track to finish my 2 weeks at Raleigh by November.

Hoping to join the Seaman reserves branch, just wanted to know, how long after training could I expect a deployment.

The reason I ask is because I'd like to do one before I leave uni and join full time, I know as a student I'm not liable to be called up, but would be more then willing to put my name forward.

2. The boss of this branch (at least on here) is called SO2Seaman. Send a PM to SO2, I'm sure he will 'move things' for you!

3. In order to be deployed you will need to have completed the training (as per the Training Matrix) to be advanced to AB1, occasionally we will allow the 12 days in a DD/FF to be waiverd, though this is by no means the norm.
    Ask your DO/PSi/STO for a copy of the matrix, and you will see exactly what is required. Based on you conducting 2 weeks of courses a year, it will take you 3 years post-Raliegh, however if you have the time and your unit has the MTDs you can crack it as quickly as you wish.
    However I can not deploy you until you are no longer in full time education, unless of course, you wish to be deployed and drop out of Uni (not something I'd recommend). Currently, for mobilisation 0310, the majority of the team will front up at HMS Nelson circa 1st April, and one of the team finishes his last Uni exam circa 30th may, and has spoken at length with his PSi/RFPO who have, via myself, arranged for his mobilisation. Communication is the key!
    Good luck, and my advice is to crack on with the courses as quick as you can, and worry about deployments later.
    Please feel free to PM me
    Kind Regards

SO2 Seaman

4. just a quick question what does DD/FF stand for?