Discussion in 'The Quarterdeck' started by Stripey_G, Jul 1, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Got a question for you..and no, I'm not a newbie and don't think it's bone.. :roll:

Have been given a bottle of Woods Rum that's obviously been opened 'cause it's now only half full. The guy tells me it's been like that for more then 5 years, was his father's, who has now sadly died and has passed it onto me. (He don't drink the stuff and knows that I do!!)

It looks clear, nothing floating about, smells ok, and the top still on. I've checked relevent web sites to answer the question:.. is it still fit to drink, and had conflicting opinions. I've not tasted it yet (so's I don't "spoil" the taste of my other Rum!!) ... So what do you Rumrats reckon...would you still drink it or ditch it in a seaman-like manner?????

Cheers... :?
  2. Drink it.
  3. Whatever you do, Do Not Drink It!. The product needs disposing of in a very special manner. Thingy, Scouse and myself will ensure this happens if you post it to us :p
  4. Asuming no one has added anything to 'improve' the flavour it should be safe to drink. Spirits don't go 'off' as such, and I have had spirits in my cupboard for years before they were finally scuppered. Pas problem.
  5. Drink it and let us know if it kills you or not :D
  6. ..oh yes, Slim, very good!! Used to use that line in the Mob with the tot !! :lol:
  7. Me Too!
  8. I believe that the expression used in the mob was "See it off in a seaman like manner" :p
  9. That is correct Slim, but as I was a Pinky and not a seaman, didn't understand that I just drank it!!! :lol: :lol:
  10. Ditch It.... Down your throat :D