Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Royal Navy, thoughts and feelings.

alexissonice

Badgeman
I'm soon to start my training in a Raleigh in a couple of months and am incredibly excited about what lays ahead. I'm planning to go in for the long run in the Navy and work my butt off, study hard and learn as much as I can and progress as far as I can...even work towards to becoming a commissioned officer one day (I have a degree but wanted to go the rate route). I'll be turning 27 as I pass out of Raleigh with a ton of life experience behind me and will be totally focused on my career and getting to were I want to be. I read allot of negative things online about serving in the current navy; that the conditions are bad, the pay is better on the outside, that you have to put up with a allot of c**p - Is this sort of talk a real concern for allot of sailors? Does it overshadow the thrill of being at sea, visiting foreign lands, doing significant work in maritime security? Or having the unique opportunity improve yourself radically both mentally and physically throughout your career? Are they just nagging concerns or does it really question why you bothered in the first place? I'm not a very fussy guy..I've lived in all kinds of places while backpacking all over the world for years (from the best hostel in Sydney, to the absolute worst Cambodian hell hole, to a plastic sheet in the middle of the Sumatran jungle)
I've cleaned rooms and bathrooms all my life (surely that's a unpaid part of life in or out of the forces) and people tell me what to do and give me c**p on Civvie street... with the added disadvantage of being stuck in an office cubicle or a cold, manky factory floor 9-5 every week.