Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to join our community
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site, connect with other members through your own private inbox and will receive smaller adverts!

Royal Navy submarine engineer

Tommy-D16

Midshipman
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and was just looking for some information and opinion.. I'm interested in joint the RN as an engineer, I've always had a keen interest in engineering, and also the navy so it sort of makes sense.

Just wondering if there is any engineers on here.. or anyone who is in the know that could tell me the general day to day. I have ready up and down the forum at some different posts and there's some good stuff.

I'm 24, I have a mortgage with my partner and currently employed in a dead end job, with no real career progression so I don't really feel like I am fulfilling my own potential, I am enthusiastic, optimistic and very sporty.

Is the navy for me? My partner said go for it and she would be happy with the potential 3,4,5 month me away on operations, just want to know if people have had similar experiences.

Thanks in advance.

Tommy

I was a Marine Engineering Artificer (Electrical) when I left if that's any help.

How did you find it? It's something I have toyed with for years to be honest, I know it's secure and really interesting and something I could make a career out of,

I know it depends on operational needs, but how long are you expecting to be away?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Average patrol will be 3 months dived (no contact with the world basically)although if you go SSN the boat could be away for 9 months or more, you won't do the whole trip unless you're unlucky.