Royal Marines Pilot?

Discussion in 'The Fleet Air Arm' started by Gareth1994, Nov 11, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi my name is Gareth and i'm new to the Rum Ration Forum :D

I just need someone to clarifiy this for me please.

Do the Royal Marines have Pilots?

If so are they part of the Fleet Air Arm?

Do some of them fly Fast Jets?

Thanks for your time and help! :D :D :D
  2. I'm sure you will get an answer soon . :D
  3. sgtpepperband

sgtpepperband War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

1. Yes.

2. Yes.

3. Yes.

4. Don't mention it!

4. Haha thanks very much for relpying :D

I never knew the RM had Fast Jet Pilots 8O what is the proceedure for becoming a Royal Marines Pilot?

Are they Commandos?

What kind of Attack Aircraft do they fly? :D

Thanks again! :D :lol: :D :lol: :D
  5. The RM won't have any fast jet pilots come April.

1. Join the Royal Marines, as an Officer if you want to be a stick monkey sooner.

2. Yes, as with all Royal Marines.

3. RM have pilots cuting around on Merlin, SeaKing, Lynx, Gazelle, Harrier and, I believe, soon to be one on Apache.
  6. Stand fast bandies
  7. Bandies don't need no green lid. You simply don't fuck with a man armed with a tuba.
  8. sgtpepperband

sgtpepperband War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

Exactly. To carry full field kit, weapons and ammo is a piece of piss. But to drag a glockenspiel into battle - and in step - is hoofing. Ãœber nails, in fact...

9. Thank you guys for all your feedback. :)

What Type of Aircraft do the Royal Marines fly? as in the Aircraft model?

10. Harriers (for about three more weeks) and Sea Kings presently - can't remember the green beret I met a couple of times in jump jet world, but Capt Damien May was very active at 771.

Not sure if there are any Royals flying on 847. I'd be surprised if there wasn't one.